

## Process for NZSS Boys Football - Premier Tournament Qualification

Premier Tournament is an open entry competition to all Boys' Secondary Schools in New Zealand. Places are limited to 32 each year (under the current format). Qualifying games are required if the number of entries received is over 32. Please note: some regions will have their own rules regarding teams that are eligible to enter the events. If you are unsure if there are any entry restrictions for your region, please check with your representative.

Once entries have closed (please note – late entries are not accepted), if playoff games are required, to determine the 32 teams, the process is as follows:

- Each region is allocated a set number of places at the tournament, and is represented on the Executive by a member, who is responsible for coordinating the qualifying process for your region (please see the table at the bottom of this sheet).
- In 2017, the National Executive reviewed the tournament structure implemented in 2016 (removing the top/bottom 16) and it was unanimously agreed to retain the open entry 32 team format.
- Once entries have closed, details of teams entered are sent to the Exec member and they will liaise with the schools directly. All games must be completed by a set date (which your Exec member will advise), so tournament seedings' can be decided and the draws created.
- Wildcards –Seedings' for Wildcards at National Tournament will be based on results with merit.
  The Executive has the right to place any team applying for a wildcard into any seeded position
  deemed appropriate. Please note: this means a wildcard may be seeded higher than another
  qualifier from a region.
- Wildcards must be submitted through the regional representative, who will present the applications to the Executive on the regions behalf. Your regional representative will advise what supporting documentation is required with the application.

Region	Tournament places	Regional Rep	Email Contact
1. Auckland / Northland	8	Alex Metzger Peter Smith	ametzger@diocesan.school.nz petersmith@mags.school.nz
2. Waikato / Bay Of Plenty	4	Aaron Scott	ascott@hbhs.school.nz
3. Central North	2	Adam Miller	millera@pnbhs.school.nz
4. East Coast	2	Rob Gunn	robgunn18@gmail.com
5. Wellington/Wairarapa	5	Ross Durant	rossdurant@gmail.com
6. Nelson / Marlborough	2	Rob Anderson	rob.anderson@gbh.school.nz
7. Canterbury	4	Matt Cortesi	mcortesi@christscollege.com
8. Aoraki/Otago / South	1	Cam McPhail	mp@kingshigh.school.nz
Wildcards	4		

Ph: 021 592 339 www.nzssfootball.co.nz